Trich

My mind won’t settle.  My left hand is numb, why? Because I’ve been obsessively pulling my hair all day.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trichotillomania

One thing about my hair pulling problem, is that is restricted to the hair on my head.  I can’t imagine how it would be if I was pulling hair from other places.  I can barely shape my eyebrows every now and then.  But pulling from the head doesn’t hurt.    I’ve also learned to do it without leaving patches.  When I was about 10, this was a lot worse and I did have bald patches.  But now I only pull individual strands at the time.  I just take a bit from different areas, and since I have so much hair, there’s no difference.

Oh, and also, I not only pull my hair but I also bite it and every now and then I inadvertently swallow it although this is rare and doesn’t feel very good.  I hope  I don’t burp a hair ball while on a date.

This is something that barely had my attention until I had my psychiatry course in 2006 and found out there was a name for it.  It always gets worse when I’m anxious.  

And right now I just can’t stop.

2 thoughts on “Trich

  1. didn’t know about that too but i suppose anything that we do quite obsessively has a name for it! i don’t pull hair out, but i pull it if i see a strand of white hair or really ugly, curly hair. i can’t stand those curly ones!

Leave a Reply

