Lift

I’m momentarily caught in elation.  I feel good.  The meds have been making me sleep an adequate number of hours and when I wake up I stay awake.  I had some trouble at first when I took the seroquel at 7:30 pm so I was asleep by 8 and woke up a3 am.   I adjusted it.  Now I am waking up at 7:30 am and I stay awake! I have always had daytime drowsyness so this is great.

I have been reading a lot, too.  Getting caught in wiki for entire hours reading all sorts of things from The Middle Ages to Subatomic Particles.  At the same time I downloaded a huge collection of science books and I’m obsessed with molecular biology.  I’m in love with science.  I understand little of it, but I’m in love.

4 thoughts on “Lift

  1. Glad the Seroquel seems to be giving some positive effects, enjoy the extra energy and reading whilst you feel this way. Hopefully it will be long term. 🙂

  2. you sound busy, good. 🙂 don’t forget the little people here, like me! (you know, if you ever discover some nobel-prize winning scientific discovery from all your readings and musings.)

  3. I feel like I can relate to the second paragraph of this post. In fact, I wrote about my experience here:

    http://michaelgr.com/2008/04/04/curiosity-good-friend-bad-master/

    Unfortunately, I still haven’t finished reading my biology textbooks… But since writing that post, I branched out in 5 other new directions, so I suppose it doesn’t matter much.

    These days I’m more into sociobiology/evolutionary psychology (check out Steven Pinker – The Blank Slate and Robert Wright – The Moral Animal for a good intro) and global catastrophic risks (I’m a member of the board of lifeboat.com, and I recommend the book edited by Nick Bostrom on GCR.)

    Anyway, just to let you know that I know how you feel about “being in love with science”. Keep going, it keeps getting better and better the more things you understand 🙂

  4. Your post is spot on. That’s what happens to me. Well I’ve already left a comment there. Thanks for commenting!

    I’m into evolutionary biology now so who knows where that’ll take me.

Leave a Reply

