BOOB ALERT

Not mine.

I found this picture some days ago, while surfing through my blogroll.

Amanda Palmer (Dresden Dolls) and 4 other of her friends, celebrating for their new tent.  Topless.

It’s a picture that makes me smile every time I see it.  It’s natural, funny, and refreshing.

I like it because these are women like myself (normal), and they’re not afraid of doing something like that because they freaking want to, only because they lack model bodies – full, symetrical breasts with incredibly flat waists and a perfect tan.

I like it because they can use parts of their body in a fun way without hypersexualising them…

Look! their boobs are on public view! They’re out there! Hide them! You are disrespecting yourselves and tempting men!

I was recently reading a local magazine that featured a muslim woman defending their use of the Hijab (wish I could find the article online! Grrr! Sorry).  I am not going to get deep into this, I’m NOT going to talk about the religion or the culture. I just wanted to note something the woman said about the Hijab.  She basically says that by covering all her grown female parts, (mouth and ears included) she’s making sure that whenever she talks, people are paying attention to her words and not her sexuality.

Another article says:

A female doctor, writer, electrician or plumber may be appreciated in the work environment for her skill, but is still basically seen as “just a woman.” But put her in Hijab so that what makes her a woman cannot be appraised and all of a sudden you are dealing with a person...”

Of course I’d hate to be treated as “just a woman“.  I live in a culture that  has lots of residual sexism in the minds of the average person.  The housewife, the mother, the fragile rose that needs to be protected, cared for and marked as part of the territory.  Women like to be roses and men like to own them.

I absolutely hate this, and it’s partly why I often feel like a stranger in this Latino culture I don’t belong to.  But that’s another topic.

In my opinion; It is the sexist mindset, not the fact that I am a woman what would cause people to see me as “just a woman“.

Why would I ever have to hide it?  And isn’t hiding it in such an active way actually highlighting the fact that there’s something forbidden in there?

That doesn’t mean I will post my boobs out here, or go outside in a see-through baby doll with fleshy glossy lips.  (Hypersexualised me… I’ll leave that for other times… when I’m looking for a sexual objective).

I’m a female human.  I have arms, legs eyes and boobs (o.O mind-blowing!) among a hundred other organs.  I could wish that looking at boobs was as normal as looking at hands…

Of course, in most human cultures, the breasts are sexual… and that’s cool.  But are they ONLY sexual?  The lips and tongue can be sexual and can be a BIG part of sexuality.  But, when you’re speaking or eating, are they sexual? (well, I don’t know what you’re into).

Some people tend to be very wary of women breastfeeding. But babies need to eat whenever they’re hungry, so the boob is going to pop out and scare you if you’re not expecting it.  “Boobs are only sexual” comes into your unconcious mind, and this thought, plus the sight of a baby and milk and sucking will make it Gross for you.

Boobs can be beautiful in a very artistic way.  Interesting shadows and lights.  A very nice composition.  I wouldn’t mind to be the model of this photo, and I wouldn’t feel like my privacy has been taken or that I’m being immoral or that I objectizise women or myself.

Boobs can also be left out for some fun whenever we want to, not sexual.

And finally, if we do want to use them in a sexual way, well, bring it on!

15 thoughts on “BOOB ALERT

  1. great post! i admit that i still see breasts as somethihng sexual which is why i feel uncomfortable seeing breastfeeding in public. maybe that will change if i have a child of my own.

    i disagree about having to hide physical parts of my bodies that makes me a woman so that i could be seen as a person. men never hide what makes them a man. they swagger and strut, they are proud of being men.

    for me, i am proud of being a woman. a woman is also a person too. i don’t have to hide my curves just to make people take me more seriously. that should be the duty of my capabilities; let my work speak for itself. if people still want to dismiss my accomplishments on the basis i am a woman, then it’s their mentality is wrong, not my physical being.

    in macau, i hardly see people wearing sleeveless tops or cleavage-baring ones. i’d say there are more girls wearing such clothing in malaysia. that said, i like how my body looks in my mango tank tops, and i wear them as i please. i like looking good, i like being a woman, not because i may be sexually attractive to some men, but because being a woman is who i am and i embrace it wholeheartedly.

  2. As much as it’s an intriguing point of view to see hidden ‘female parts’ (including mouths and ears!) as a way to stop women being seen as sexual objects or ‘just women’ I agree with you that hiding the face and body does encourage the feeling that there’s something forbidden under the clothes. If men also hid their ears and mouths and arms etc, perhaps it would be different but they don’t. In my opinion, the only way to have true equality is to act as if we already have it, to stop identifying ourselves and each other in positive or negative terms based on the size of our breasts or the shape of our legs or the number of children we have. Sometimes I feel like women take more shit from each other than we ever do from men.

  3. Great post!

    I disagree with the woman who says “A female doctor, writer, electrician or plumber may be appreciated in the work environment for her skill, but is still basically seen as “just a woman.” But put her in Hijab so that what makes her a woman cannot be appraised and all of a sudden you are dealing with a person…” because I don’t think Hijab confers this equality. [my opinion]A woman in a burkha or niqab stops being a woman *and* a person. She becomes an invisible creature. [/my opinion]

  4. Could the same be extended to penises, then? I don’t think I’d enjoy seeing pecker hanging around in public as much as boob. I guess a big part of why the boob is sexualised is because it’s supposedly hidden. Like what’s hidden is then sensual. Like the forbidden fruit. (I hope I’m making some sense here). Then we question why they are hidden in the first place. Good question.
    I guess it’s somewhat like different cultures hidding different body parts and hence rendering it sexy. Like grotesque bound feet of the Chinese culture back in the 18th-19th century. That was regarded as sexy because it was meant to be hidden.
    All in all, there’s nothing inherently sexual with any body part, but what the culture denotes it to be. Hmm.

  5. yay, great comments everyone! Thank you!

    Sometimes I feel like women take more shit from each other than we ever do from men.

    *nods* Sexism is not a male vs female thing, it’s a whole culture thing, it comes from both sides. Actually, I feel less like “just a girl”, when I hang out with my male friends than when I hang out with the girls.

    Like grotesque bound feet of the Chinese culture back in the 18th-19th century. That was regarded as sexy because it was meant to be hidden.

    Ohhh thanks for reminding me of this!

    When I was reading about Geishas, I also learned that they could do all kinds of seduction play with showing a bit of their forearms that were covered most of the time.

    Could the same be extended to penises, then?

    HAHHAHA, good question! I don’t know… I don’t think I’d enjoy seeing penises hanging out everywhere I go either… but, would we get used to it if it was a daily thing?

    For example, in my doctor practice, a penis is nothing much really, just an organ. Cause we see so many… in that context I mean.

    But if I see one in a sexual way, well, I’m just like a normal non-doctor person. My brain compartimentalizes it…

  6. by covering all her grown female parts, (mouth and ears included) she’s making sure that whenever she talks, people are paying attention to her words and not her sexuality.

    This is precisely why I cover my wallet whenever women are present. If I didn’t, women just couldn’t possibly see me for who I am.

  7. you know, the thing is that boobs are to women as balls are to men, I mean they keep these covered all the time too, don’t they…. while I know they are only important sexually and not for any other reason, as for breasts which are necessary for feeding babies, but what I am trying to say is, that certain things need to remain under covers and thats what makes them attractive, cuz they are hidden, cuz we r living in a world, where size of the breast and length of the penis is given due importance……
    also, the hijab part is so unfair, i mean how can anyone be treated like a person just because they cover every part of their body, I guess that could work for the good looking guys too, you know how girls never listen to what they say even if they are obviously stupid (eg. remember ethan craft from lmg?, i know its a tv show, but tv shows represent a part of lives too)

Leave a Reply

