Ups in the downs.

Some good thoughts…

I’m always reluctant to talk about feeling better when I’ve been in a depressive episode.  At first I thought I would be unconciously jinxing it for me; then I thought that maybe I was getting too used to loved ones trying to confort me, and I didn’t want to lose them and stand on my own just yet; I also thought that by saying I was alright, people and myself would expect me to stay that way, and the frustration when I felt bad again would be bigger, and the guilt huge.

Maybe there’s some truth in all of that.  But mostly, I’ve learned to recognize that in the middle of depression, an up is not the end.  An up might just be a temporary improvement, and it can go away the same way with a snap.  How long it will last? It’s not known.

2 thoughts on “Ups in the downs.

Leave a Reply

