The Internet Addiction

How often do you find that you stay online longer than you intended?

How often do you check your email before something else that you need to do?

Be honest.

Take

this test

and this test

and let me know what you get. πŸ˜‰

On test No.1 I got a 60%

On test No.2 I got a 12

While I answered a 4 or a 5 in questions that had to do with how much time I spend online and how important it is to me (I do create relationships with online people), and while I sometimes have no control (Staying online much longer than intended), it has no repercussions on my offline relationships or my job performance. Also, I am an indoor kind of girl, not too social and never have been -even before the internet came in the picture when I was 12.

If there was no internet, I would be drawing something or writing something on a napkin.

Now, not only WordPress is cooler than a napkin, but the Internet has probably made me more social than I would without it. Staying indoors with no one but my thoughts and thinking I am kind of strange? or interacting with people on the other side of the world who happen to be similar to me (So I’m not strange, but living in a strange town) and discussing my thoughts, while getting to know so many things and so many different ways to see the world than I would never dream of if it wasn’t for this.

So, I am by no means ashamed of being accused of Internet addiction. It’s part of my life and it’s here to stay. But taking quizzes is cool… I might suffer of an slight online-quiz addiction.

Like everything, it is only a problem if interferes with your life. But if your life is partly it, then it’s not really an interference right?

*

I think the ultimate way to measure one’s Internet addiction is summed up in this question:

If confronted with the decision right now. Would you prefer to:

a. Upload your mind into a computer and not be able to go offline again, while you get to live for as long as you want, and have free access to all places and all information?

OR,

b. Remain offline and be banned from the internet (any online resource, includying music downloading and email) for as long as you live?

So, what is it going to be?

Posted in Uncategorized.

9 thoughts on “The Internet Addiction

  1. 42 on the first one (Douglas Adams fan to the last)
    14 on the second.

    Re: the decision… ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGHHHHH

    I think the last one (*phew*), but I’d have to go and live in a commune or somewhere else where the Internet wasn’t. I mean, how could I live my current life without Facebook or email? Not to mention online maps to stop me getting lost…

    Mind, I think I’ve been minorly addicted to the internet since I was about 15. It’s like crack, I swear πŸ˜€

  2. duh, of course bbbbbbbbbbbbbb!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    haha, i can’t lie, you know what my real answer is. πŸ˜€ i mean, i’m a bloody bot, remember! πŸ˜†

  3. Apparently I’m an average internet user. I do spend a lot of time online, but it’s a huge part of my work and most of my online time is spent doing work-related stuff. I really enjoy having a no-computer day sometimes!

  4. 1st test=54, 2nd=7…..said something about being borderline addicted and maybe I should take a break from the comp screen…. I was too busy eating breakfast in front of the comp to read the whole thing. πŸ˜‰ maybe I am addicted..hmm….

  5. I was too busy eating breakfast in front of the comp to read the whole thing.

    haha

    Indeed you are 54% addicted!

    Apparently I’m still winning with 60%.

    But as much as I love being here, and as much as I love the idea of living forever, I love the outside world. I can enjoy a outdoors adventure, I love going out and finding new places, even though the idea of “going out” that is more widespread might not interest me that much. I want to see the world, experience all kinds of things.

    But then again, everytime I have the coolest of experiences my first thought is that it would mean a great blog entry. The experience is never complete until I reflect on it and add it to my big mental file of “world understanding”.

    It’s good that we get the choice of keeping both worlds alive huh? Both are pretty cool in my opinion.

  6. First test:

    Score = 39
    You are an average on-line user. You may surf the Web a bit too long at times, but you have control over your usage.

    Second test:

    Score = 8
    You answered yes to 8 questions. OK, so you do sometimes get sidetracked when you start surfing the Web. But that doesn’t make you an addict … just more like the rest of us. Provided at least some of your computer use is at work, you probably don’t have to worry. If however you feel you may be traveling too much in cyberspace, now would be a good time to set some limits. Dr. Orzack suggests promising yourself you’ll only play solitaire for a specific time before going to call someone on the phone. Or join an exercise program that gives you a similar feeling of being in control.

    Whenever I go online, I always have a mental list of what I intend to do. Once that list is completed, I log off. If the task is taking too long, I go offline and return to it at a later time.

    I only spend a long time online if I happen to be chatting, but that is a rare occurrence. It is usually the case as an all or nothing individual, that I either give my attention fully to one person or no one at all. Right now, the only person I chat with online is Nessa. I find it distracting and entirely undesirable, to be friends with more than one or two people online simultaneously. It is too much of an emotional investment and breach of privacy.

  7. I understand what you mean. Right now, there are only three people I am always up for a talk. I didn’t use to have many contacts, my msn had around 14 and now has 22. It was rare to find 2 people connected at the same time. I keep my msn contacts and my facebook contacts mainly for networking, but I am not all-or-nothing, and I have fun chatting with many people (fine, not many; 3) at the same time, especially if they interact with each other too.

    When one of the three people I mentioned above starts a thread and I get involved with it, I tend to say goodbye to the other people and say I will be busy, or I’ll just turn the invisibility on. It’s only until this year that I have been using invisibility, but some of my contacts started to ignore the away/busy alerts.

    When I am IMing, I still can do all kinds of things online. I jump from one thing to another, and next thing I know, hours have passed. I rarely have plans unless I have a project from uni, but even then I get sidetracked. Being online is not a tool to me as it is a recreation park. Maybe this is doesn’t make me too efficient, but so far I’ve always finished what I am supposed to finish when it comes to work and deadlines. I love going into wikipedia and get lost…. usually the most interesting things are found when I’m wandering with no objective. Maybe that’s my objective: to wander.

Leave a Reply

