A new addition to my blogroll

UPDATE = I HAVE CREATED A BLOGROLL PAGE THIS ONE INCLUDED.  A LITTLE PLACE FOR EVERY BLOG TO BE.  I HAVE INCLUDED DESCRIPTIONS OF WHAT EACH LINK MEANS TO ME…. “WHAT A LINK MEANS TO ME” POETIC HUH?  WELL, MAYBE NOT.  JUST FOLLOW THE LINK.

Letters From Exile (LA)

It started as both of us being victims of blog scrapping off by the same criminal. Some site that as I see is now gone, that was all about depression and just posted entries from my blog and many other bloggers. LA very kindly emailed me to let me know about this, just like in the past Sulz emailed me to let me know about another blog scrapper case. After they sent notifications of this to the appropriate places, I found myself immersed in LA’s blog instead.

1) It’s a blog about depression.

2) It’s not long and whiney like mine, although my blog is not “about” depression, it’s about Me, the complicated and confused Nessa who also happens to suffer from depression. So I get to be whiney… maybe not, but I still am. And you still read me, so there.

3) Although there are thousands of blogs about depression, this one particulary attracted me, because it has very good material about how depression affects herself and other people in a very concise, easy to read, and even in a fun way.

I’d like to ask some of the people who are kind of confused about the depressed girl who writes here (me) and her “emo” entries, to read some of the entries of my featured blog, since in my opinion, it would help you understand what it’s like to suffer from depression as opossed to “ohhh I’m so depressed, my boyfriend broke up with me today”.

4) Of course, besides all that, I liked it because it triggers a “DITTO!” response on myself. And a sweet jealous hate of “why didn’t I think of that before”. That of course attracts blog scrappers but I’m not one of them.

I could end my post here, but I seem to be incapable of making short posts. So I am going to point to a few posts that triggered the ditto response.

Nah, jk, you get to see them by yourself. 🙂

*

Actually, I just wanted to ask you people:

What is the first thing you consider when you arrive at a new blog?

I mean, you obviously consider the whole content of the blog after reading a few entries, but what is the hook? Because you don’t read the whole content of every blog you read, or do you? Wow, you’re a machine. Scrapper!

*ahem*

So, what is the most common thing that hooks you into a blog?

  • A hot entry
  • The main theme… “A blog about atheism”, “A blog about books”
  • The visual Theme (The skin).
  • The About Page
  • The titles of the posts
  • The number of comments
  • The number of visits
  • The engine: WordPress/Blogger, etc.
  • Other (specify…)

Happy Blogging!

14 thoughts on “A new addition to my blogroll

  1. I think I may’ve got scraped by the same site, what did you do about it?

    I mean, I’m not getting too whiny about it, because I’m doing it (blogging) for the benefits to myself mainly, but I do get a bit twitching about my personal stuff being scraped off onto another site.

  2. what hooks me to a blog?

    1. it makes sense (seriously)
    2. similar interests / age / experience etc
    3. easy-to-read writing style
    4. good paragraphing (dump all your great writing into one fat paragraph and i’ll leave, i can’t read!)
    5. a sense of friendliness (some bloggers don’t sound very friendly, i don’t just mean the way they respond to comments, but just from the way they write)

  3. hmm, i see what you mean about your featured blog in this post. i enjoyed reading it! haha, enjoying reading about depression, is there something wrong here?

    in a way, the cycles of depression is like an obese person. just as how it is not effective to make someone lose weight by ridiculing his/her size and saying how if others can lose weight they can too, it is the same with telling people with depression to stop feeling sorry for themselves because they are people who have it worse out there?

    and i so agree on that blogger’s post about how misery is relative.

  4. Chouette
    LA (Letters From Exile) sent an email to google and the ip owner. The scrapper’s site is down though. So I didn’t do anything!

    So I’m guessing, if you face a scrapper, you might want to do the same she did. Email the ip owner. Or else, email google so it won’t show up in their engine.

    *
    Sulz
    Your list is pretty cool, good ideas. I do too care a lot about your No. 2, but I included that in “The ‘About’ Page” I am a fan of reading the About page, it being the first thing I check on a blog. That’s why I tend not to like blogger too much as opposed of WordPress, that usually allows for a extensive About page.

    The paragraphing bit is so true!! Nobody will know if your writing is good if you just don’t feel like reading it! It also applies to skins.. if you have some yellow background with red letters I will run away.

    No. 5 is also a big one. It’s something I tend to put a huge weight on for some reason… it’s not about being friendly with ME, but as you say, it’s something about the way they write.

    *
    Sulz2

    enjoying reading about depression, is there something wrong here?

    No it’s not wrong. She makes it enjoyable, which is a huge plus. People will read it, and people will understand and they won’t be burdened with long clinical reviews or by seeing an actual person suffer it.

    Your second paragraph sums it up. It is a good analogy, the obese people thing. Sure there are ways to lose weight, but telling them to “go out there and exercise” might not be the best thing. You’d have to tell if the person is obese BECAUSE they spend their life in front of a tv eating fries, or if they have any condition, metabolic disorder, illness or medication side effect that makes them gain weight instead of jumping into the conclusion that they are just lazy. It is a very unfair an insensitive thing to do.

    The Relative Misery one is a very good read, yes.

  5. 😀 <— my face!

    It’s been a long day (got home at 9; tried to change the lightbulb in my bathroom and dropped the new bulb, which smashed in the bath; put the shampoo and shower gel I bought on the bathroom shelf – still in the dark – and it also came down and landed in the bath, not smashing thankfully but leaving a hole in the wall where it was screwed on … ) and now it’s been a good day!

    I am really, really happy that you liked it and took something from it.

    Sulz, I agree with no 4! It’s the first rule of writing for the internet: imagine your reader has ADD!

    Chouette (cute name) if you go to http://www.whois.net/ you can find out who owns the domain name and from there contact the host.

    Off to have a look around before bed!

    la x

  6. Ah, I see, thanks! Yeah, when I went back and checked I noticed it had gone down, definately must’ve been the same site. I’ll note that for next time.

    (I’m er, kinda new to blogging, as you can probably tell if you’ve seen my blog).

    On what hooks me to a blog… I think it’s:
    * posts I can relate to
    * or posts I can read in awe and wish my life was like that
    * or posts I can learn something interesting from

    Basically, content wins, but it does help if it’s written in semi-reasonable English (or whichever language). Txt spk really gets on my nerves for some reason… dyslexia is ok of course, though I have a kinda funny reading style that can find phonetic spellings hard.

    And they have to have an RSS feed, because I check blogs I read using Google Reader (including this one, now)

  7. Oooo, la, thanks very much! 😀

    Oooooo, bed… I really should go there myself, rather than sit here writing yet another comment onto this post *blushes*

    Goodnight 🙂

  8. La

    It’s been a long day (got home at 9; tried to change the lightbulb in my bathroom and dropped the new bulb, which smashed in the bath; put the shampoo and shower gel I bought on the bathroom shelf – still in the dark – and it also came down and landed in the bath, not smashing thankfully but leaving a hole in the wall where it was screwed on … ) and now it’s been a good day!

    That really finished my day. I had a laughing fit at that… mostly because it’s happened to me.

    Glad I made your face look like that! It’s kinda too yellow though… you might want to check your liver.

    imagine your reader has ADD!

    This is actually true for most people in the internet. It’s so easy to just open a tab and look at it for one quarter of a second and then hit the [x] and go to the next one… it needs a hook! And definitely that huge paragraph is NOT a hook no matter how many hello kitties you have pasted around it! (especially if you have pasted hello kitties around… ugh)

    *
    Chouette

    Well content should always win after all! Ever happened to you that you find a blog that looks interesting but after a few reads you discover certain patterns… weird ideas… or just realize the first impression was not the way the blog really is?

    Blogs are like people, er, people.

    Txt Speak! EW.

    *
    ABOUT MY RSS FEED: YOU’RE NOT DUMB! I JUST DON’T HAVE A LINK FOR THAT. I GUESS I AM USED TO JUST PASTE THE BLOG ADDRESS ON THE GOOGLE READER AND IT AUTOMATICALLY RETRIEVES THE RSS….

    I AM GOING TO HAUNT MY RSS FEED AND POST IT IN MY BLOG,

    THANKS FOR LETTING ME KNOW CHOUETTE AND LA

  9. Oh, yes, I forgot to say, I added the RSS feed links minutes after I wrote that.

    Google Reader is cool like that. I just type blog addresses that I like and it does all the work for me.

    I sound like an ad. I tend to sound like an ad when it comes to Google things… if only they paid me.

  10. Huh, I’m slow I guess, I totally didn’t notice those.

    I’m a big Google freak too sadly. I use Google Mail, Google Docs… I kinda wish I didn’t, cos in the end Big Mama Google is just gonna take over and have a monopoly on the Internet, but their stuff is just so damn useful most of the time.

    I hate Blogger though. I did try it, and WordPress is much much much better.

Leave a Reply

