The Dresden Dolls

I like music, I like some music.  But I’ve never been that much into it.  I don’t know that much about it.  All the time, and especially in uni, med school and all that, I ran across these people who seem to be completely obsessed about music -regardless of genre. Talking, singing, discussing about it, like music made up a huge percentage of their brain usage.  Like they couldn’t live without it.

My thoughts were always

“wtf…”

“yeah, well, the song is decent, but it’s not that good to cause that reaction…”

and of course:

“why don’t I get that reaction with those songs?”

“is there anything wrong with me?”

“Do I lack some music chip in my brain?”.

I still looked into it all, and because my friends had huge interests in music, that led me to know a few things here and there, exploring, not finding any treasure like it was promised.  Of course, later, when I started giving myself some slack, I realized I wasn’t damaged or anything.  I just had different interests, and different priorities…  many other things that make me happy and I cannot live without.

Yes I lack the music chip.  That’s fine.

(but I own many others that the musos may not have)

Or do I?

I think I’ve just dugg into some golden thing.

Now I get a grasp of understanding…

The guy that says with a huge grin on his face that he’s just found the best thing in the world in a mp3 file of Bossa Nova.   Or the girl who says punk music changed her life completely.   Or that other guy who can take shit everyday as long as he can go back to those sounds that make everything go back to normal.  Or the one who sells things and leaves everything just to go to a concert somewhere far.

It might never take up 90% of my thoughts.  But I get it now.  It’s amazing.  People wonder why I listen to these songs so much, wonder why I like them, and look at me like a freak sometimes when I sing them out loud.  That’s exactly it.   That’s how the other’s looked like in my eyes most of the times when they confessed their current musical obsession.

And the best, I don’t even feel like making them understand why.   I actually enjoy thinking that I might be the only one who likes this music this way althought I know for a fact that I’m not.  But I rather think there’s no other human who gets these feelings when I listen to this specific tune.  This is my thing.  It’s a secret I’ve discovered, and I don’t want to share.

My treasure… that for everyone else it’s just a box of nothing.  It’s the best kind of ’em.

3 thoughts on “The Dresden Dolls

  1. i always try listening to less popular artists, many of whom are unsigned… i’m into many genres and my life would be a lot less enjoyable without discovering the musical talents that i have come across.

    i get what you mean about the secret between some pieces of music and yourself. it’s a nice feeling.

  2. I know what you mean about feeling like the only one who likes a certain song or artist. I don’t listen to radio stations because I don’t want to be influenced by pop music. If it has a nice tune and the words have a special meaning to me it goes in my mp3 player.

    I firmly believe that music is an entirely different experience for every person.

Leave a Reply

