Tantalized

I’ve been searching around for a little while, trying to remember a name that impressed me a lot, back in school while reviewing Greek mythology. After a few questions and google attempts I finally found the man: Tantalus.

According to the legend, Tantalus was a King that was once invited to Olympus, the place of the gods. Apparently he stole some Ambrosia, the food of the deities and source of immortality, not even for himself, but for his people. As a punishment, the Gods sentenced him to stand forever in a pool of water beneath a tree with low branches full of delicious fruit. However, whenever he tried to reach for them, the branches raised the fruit from his grasp. And, though he was immersed up to his neck in water, when he bent to drink, it all drained away. And worst, he wouldn’t die either.

Tantalus, Willi Glasauer, 1864

Pretty torture, huh? Greeks must have thought of this as a special punishment for a special situation, but the way I think of it, average humans have much to relate to this. Lets accept it, humans are completely tantalized (oh I love this word now, real or not). We have the world in front of us, and the brains to admire it, but not the ability to get satisfaction from it. We might get the fruit sometimes, but not the water, or vice versa, or nothing at all. And I can assure you if we had both the fruit and the water, we’d still look for the ambrosia. It’s endless, and it’s not a flaw, it’s part of our design! We evolved into our own torture. At least I think I did.

Thought this could end with lots of optimistical thoughts, encouraging words of how “that’s what makes life worth it” and “the world is beautiful” and songs and poems, I’m sorry to inform that I failed the motivational talk course, and I’d rather stick to the part that really sucks about the whole thing. Maybe I’m just that pessimist, that half-empty-glass-of-water person. I don’t really want to give it more thoughts or try to go the bright side anymore. After being through three different shrinks, pharmacological treatments, guilt, shame, phobias, obsessions, and total insanity, I guess all I can do is keep trying to tell my brain to stop being fucked up and just accept that there are many simple things I won’t be able to have as much as I’d like to. I don’t even know how to feel about this now. Tantalized I guess.

8 thoughts on “Tantalized

  1. Yeah thanks, I feel bad now for forgetting to mention the author of the pic. Probably violating severaly copyrights, heh.

    Shhhh.

    But yeah, it’s a nice work. Pencil drawing is usually understimated.

  2. I recall reading in one of your entries that a friend was paying you to do their artwork. Have you posted any of your work on this blog? It would be fascinating to see.

  3. No, I haven’t posted it. Most of what I’ve done has been destroyed, mainly for what I’ve stated in my post “Art Star”.

    I don’t really believe I’ve made any artwork. I’m good at drawing and painting that’s all. But I don’t feel I’ve done anything new and I’ve definitely haven’t expressed what I’m trying to in anything I’ve done so far.

    I could scan and post some of the things that still remain though. Maybe one day I’ll be able to do something I like.

  4. You mention that you see yourself as a decorator instead of an artist. I think this is a very perceptive observation. You have effectively managed to grasp the difference between average ‘art’ and exceptional art.

    Beautifully profound art moves people because it allows them to catch a glimpse of their own humanity. This is in no way accidental. The author of the content is effective because their imagination is guided by an understanding of the self first and others second. It is precisely this which makes it possible for them to convey a powerful message.

    I have theatre training with a focus in acting. It is useless to the extent that I no longer have the desire to pursue acting, buy beneficial to the extent that it can be used as a foundation for better comprehending the arts and humanity in general. The two, are intimately linked.

    A mediocre actor is a mimic. An exceptional actor questions, analyzes, explores, and repeats the process as many times as it takes to understand a character’s motivations, needs, and justifications. Eventually, they acquire a level of self-awareness that is well beyond the average individual. At this point, they do not need to mimic. They just ARE. Behind the most profound messages, is an individual with an unparalleled amount of self-awareness.

    From what I understand, your technique is already there and in time, as you come to learn more about yourself, the rest will follow.

  5. I have theatre training with a focus in acting.

    Pardon my ignorance, but I used to think theatre and acting reffered to the same thing, like, performing arts, and actually thought theatre was a type of acting.

    Besides that, I do think actors need a great perception and empathy. The character has to come from the inside. I consider all that extremely hard to do.

    From what I understand, your technique is already there and in time, as you come to learn more about yourself, the rest will follow.

    Yeah, I hope I can manage to use some of my perceptions and mix them with the technique. Maybe something good will come up someday.

  6. Pardon my ignorance, but I used to think theatre and acting reffered to the same thing, like, performing arts, and actually thought theatre was a type of acting.

    No, theatre training alone can mean anything pertaining to the Theatre which can include set design, props, costume, make-up, lighting, sound and so forth. There is so much to theatre that most people involved in it are not an actor. For every cast, there is a significantly bigger crew.

    Yeah, I hope I can manage to use some of my perceptions and mix them with the technique. Maybe something good will come up someday.

    I forgot to say this in the previous post, but if you have the time, I would like to see some of your scanned work.

  7. Ohh very interesting. I have always admired performers, and always had a secret desire of learning some about acting, and try it out. Though I’ve always been too shy to acomplish this.

    Oh alright, I will try to post a couple of things in a blog sometime.

Leave a Reply

